The Australian Medical Students' Association Limited and state AMSA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMSA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



Legal Basics

AMSA is a public company limited by guarantee. It consists of an AMSA Board, the National Executive and Members of the company. Board Members are Directors of the company, and the Members of the company are the AMSA Representatives from each Medical School.  

The AMSA Board

The AMSA Board is comprised of ten directors: four executive directors and six elected directly by Members at Council meetings. The Board is composed of various medical students as well as professionals in a range of fields, who maintain broad oversight of AMSA's operations and direction. AMSA's Board has a responsibility to ensure AMSA is run sustainably, in line with its strategic goals and in the interests of its membership.

As at January 1st 2017, membership is as follows:

  • Chair: Victoria Berquist, Board member until council 3 2017
  • Robert Thomas, executive director until December 2017, AMSA President
  • Tarren Zimsen, executive director until December 2017, AMSA Treasurer
  • Scott Ashby, executive director until October 2017, National Convention Convenor
  • Holly Richter, executive director until October 2017, Global Health Conference Convenor
  • Alex Robinson, Board member until Council 1 2017
  • Dianne Glenn, Board member until council 3 2017
  • Arndt Herrmann, Board member until Council 1 2018
  • Tom Morrison, Board member until Council 1 2018
  • James Lawler, Board member until council 3 2018

The board also has several subcommittees:

  • Audit and Risk Committee:
    • Chair: Tom Morrison
    • Members: Victoria Berquest, Dianne Glen, Arndt Herrmann, Alex Robinson, Tarren Zimsen
    • Observer: Roger Buckley
  • Nominations Committee:
    • Chair: James Lawler
    • Members: Victoria Berquest, Scott Ashby, Alex Robinson
    • Observer: Roger Buckley

On top of this the company has an executive officer, Roger Buckley. As the only paid employee of the company Mr Buckley is of critical assistance to the functioning of the board room, the treasury, the national executive and the maintaining the important ties between AMSA and the AMA. 

National Executive

The Executive is typically made up of approximately 15 students from one or more medical schools in the same state, each taking on a specific role. They are responsible for maintaining the organisation on a day-to-day basis and coordinating both with AMSA reps at each university, as well as with many outside committees to make sure that your voice as a medical student is heard loud and clear. The AMSA Executive is elected annually by the AMSA Representatives from each medical school at Second Council (or occasionally at Third Council). Individual positions within the Executive are not voted upon, rather votes are cast for a whole team. To be in the running to be a part of an AMSA Executive, you need to complete the following steps (specific dates and quantities are released by the current Executive as they are confirmed):

  • Find a team of suitable people to fill the Executive positions
  • Notify the AMSA President and Company Secretary of your intention to bid
  • Compile a bid document and submit it to the current Chair of Council (
  • Prepare a 20 minute presentation introducing your team and outlining your bid, to be delivered at the Second Council meeting, or if the bid process dictates, the Third Council meeting
  • Liaise with the National Coordinator ( regarding your attendance at Council (please note that individual bid teams are required to fund travel and Council sitting fees)

For further details on the 2015 AMSA Executive Bid process, including deadlines and bid document requirements, please see the attached document.

Representatives and Council

The AMSA Council is made up of an AMSA Representative from each medical school. The Executive and MedSoc Presidents also attend AMSA Council. Council is the chief decision-making body of the Association and all official public policy are ratified by this body. Council convenes three times per year and generally lasts for three days: usually First Council is in March, Second Council in July, and Third Council in October. First and Third Councils take place in the home city of the Executive; the July Council occurs on the weekend prior to the National Convention in the respective city. Each AMSA Representative is elected by their respective MedSoc as part of its internal election process. AMSA Representatives have the important role of acting as a conduit between AMSA and local medical students. Through their local AMSA subcommittees, they bring the concerns, issues and opinions of medical students at their medical school to AMSA Council and the Executive. AMSA Representatives also promote AMSA at their local level, facilitating grassroots engagements with students.  

AMSA Committees

AMSA Committees report directly to the AMSA Council. Committees are responsible for directly administering aspects of specific operations. Committees are headed by a chair and currently consist of:

  • AMSA National Convention Committee
  • AMSA Global Health Conference Committee
  • AMSA Global Health Committee
  • AMSA Medical Education Committee
  • AMSA Rural Health Committee
  • AMSA International Students' Network
  • AMSA Surgical Interest Network
  • AMSA History Committee

Other Committees arise from time to time to develop, manage and implement AMSA Events and programmes. For example, in 2007 a Committee was established to organise the March Meeting of the IFMSA General Assembly held in Mandurah, Western Australia.  

AMSA Subcommittees 

AMSA subcommittees are the extension of AMSA at the medical school level. Subcommittees are chaired by the respective AMSA Representative and are open to all medical students at each medical school. The most important role of subcommittees is to provide a direct and accessible link between the local medical student and AMSA, allowing individual students to contribute to the national body. Through its subcommittees, AMSA is able to collect and analyse the concerns and views of Australia’s 17,500 medical students. Subcommittees also assist their AMSA Representative in undertaking and implementing AMSA events and projects. Subcommittee members can undertake a number of roles depending on local conditions, including:

  • Attendance and participation in AMSA Councils as a proxy or observer
  • Convention Delegation Organiser
  • Blood Drive Coordinator
  • Assistance in distribution of AMSA Publications
  • Assistance in distribution of AMSA promotional material
  • Distribution and collection of AMSA surveys
  • Promoting AMSA sponsors

Click here to access contact details for the AMSA Reps.  


AMSA is affiliated with the following International and National Organisations:

Medical Societies

Each medical school around Australia also has its own Medical Student Society, fondly known as a MedSoc. Click on the links below to see the websites of AMSA's Constituent Societies, and get in touch with your local MedSoc today. Australian National University | Bond University | Deakin University | Flinders University | Griffith University | James Cook University | Monash University | University of Adelaide | University of Melbourne | University of Newcastle | Univeristy of New England | University of New South Wales | University of Notre Dame Fremantle |University of Notre Dame Sydney | University of Queensland | University of Sydney | University of Tasmania | University of Western Australia | University of Western Sydney | University of Wollongong